Mac OS - Factory reset

Mac OS - Factory reset

Problem

A Macbook user needs to factory reset their device running Mac OS to fix a technical problem with the device.


Appliers to

  1. Mac OS

Resolution

Depending on the version of Mac OS your machine is using you may need to restore in the following ways detailed below.



Alert
ALERT!
Ressetting Mac OS will erase all user data.  Please arranage  for a backup of your data to be available prior to conducting the reset.

  1. Click the Apple symbol on the top left corner of your screen and select “System preferences”.
  2. Then with the System Preferences window open click “System preferences” menu at the top and select “restore” in the menu.
  3. You will now be presented a new window allowing you to completely restore your Mac to defaults. If you have not backed up yet cancel the operation.


Reference
  1. Mac OS reset - Apple support article