Problem
One of the following scenarios are encountered by the user:
- The ZoomText or Fusion settings appear to be lost after being setting has been updated.
- The ZoomText or Fusion settings appear to change after restarting the computer.
Applies to
Detail
When ZoomText or Fusion first loads it will attempt to open the default configuration file for the users settings. If the changes are not saved to this file when the settings are updated the change will not appear next time the computer starts.
Resolution
Determine which scenario above is being encountered:
- User settings lost after restart
- User settings changed after restart
User settings lost after restart
This problem usually is a result of failing to save the user settings after they have been changed. To resolve this issue click ZoomText/Fusion menu in the main window.
Then choose Configurations > Save as default and then click Yes when prompted to overwrite.
User settings changed after restart
If user settings have changed without the user explicitly requesting this the problem may be the result of a setting that saves the current state of ZoomText or Fusion when it exits. This can prove problematic if the magnification or speech is disabled and the computer is shut down. To resolve this do the following:
- Click the ZoomText or Fusion menu in the main window.
- Then click Settings > Program.
- Then uncheck the option “Save settings on exit”
- Then click OK button.
- Then click ZoomText or Fusion menu, choose Configurations > Save as default.
- When prompted to overwrite click Yes button.